Research Databases


Aurora Public library provides access to selected subscription based resources with a quality content. Databases may include full-text newspaper, magazine and journal articles for research, or facts and answers on topics ranging from business and health to reading recommendations and test preparation. Most of these databases are accessible from home using your library barcode and PIN; some are designated for In-Library Use Only.


A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z


If you prefer you may view our Databases by Subject.

Note:* reflects in library use only.
 
 
-
Databases beginning with A
-
America the Beautiful: Geared for students doing research reports on specific states in America. For every state you will find fast facts, history, government, geography, economy and culture information. In addition, the U.S. Topics section span the entire country, focusing on presidents, Native American tribes, explorers and more.
Ancestry Library Edition* Powered by Ancestry.com, the number 1 Source for Family History Online.
AtoZ databases: Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, or finding friends and relatives.
ArticleFirst: An OCLC index of articles taken from the table of contents pages of journals. For most items, the database provides a list of libraries that own that title.
Aula de Padres: Contiene información para los padres sobre el cuidado y la protección de los hijos, artículos sobre el embarazo, parto, posparto y el cuidado del bebé, así como recursos para la psicología familiar y sobre salud natural.
Aurora Beacon News: Full text articles (1997-current)
Aurora Library Catalog: View Aurora Library holdings for all library locations (Main, Eola Road, and West). View your library card account information, place holds and view items you have out. PIN number and Library card number may be required.
Auto Repair Reference Center: Automotive repair information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.
A-Z Maps Online: World's most useful online database of downloadable maps for university, grade school, and public libraries. Large database of static maps, animated maps, real-time maps, scientific maps, and historic maps in one place.
 
-
Databases that begin with B
-
Biography Resource Center: Information in this database is gathered from more than 130 reference sources and articles from over 265 magazines.
Book Browse: Find your next great read using BookBrowse's Reviews, recommendations, author bios and interviews. Bookbrowse also has resources for book clubs and thousands of "read-alike" suggestions.
Boston Globe: Search The Boston Globe, with full text, from 1997 to the present.
Brain Fuse -- Live Homework Help: Online access to expert tutors through the HelpNow program from Brainfuse, Inc. one of the nation’s leading providers of online tutoring services. From 2-10pm CST. 7 days a week. This service may not be availalbe on certain holidays.
Business Searching Interface: Industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Business Source Premier: Provides company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Wire: Search The Business Wire, with full text, from 1988 to the present.
 
-
Databases that begin with C
-
Chicago Defender: Chicago Defender full-text articles (1999-present).
Chicago Sun Times: Chicago Sun Times full-text articles (1985-present).
Chicago Tribune: Chicago Tribune full-text articles (1985-present).
Children's Literature Review: eBook collection of book reviews, criticism, and commentary.
ClasePeriodica: Clase Periódica contiene bibliografías de documentos en español publicados en revistas latinoamericanas de ciencias, humanidades y tecnología.
Consulta: Es una colección de material de referencia en español, revistas especializadas, clásicos literarios, atlases, diccionarios y documentos primarios. La información cubre arte y cultura, ciencias sociales y humanas, ciencias técnicas, y los sectores sociales y económicos.
Consumer Health complete: CHC provides full-text articles covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Crain's Chicago Business: Crain's Chicaog Business full-text articles (1986-present).
 
-
Databases that begin with D
-
Daily Herald: Daily Herald full-text articles (1997-present).
Daily Life Through History: Provides full-text articles about customs and culture throughout world history.
Diccionarios: Una colección que incluye un diccionario de la lengua española, uno de sinónimos y antónimos, y diccionarios bilingües de español con inglés, francés, alemán y portugués.
 
-
Databases that begin with E
-
Electronic Collections Online: from OCLC FirstSearch A collection of over 4,800 scholarly journals from 1995 through the present, many of which are full-text.
Encyclopedia Americana: Online version of the standard reference source used in print by thousands of students in school, academic, and public libraries. This database helps middle- to upper-grade students find a wealth of information to assist with homework and research projects.
ERIC: Contains almost 1 million journal articles, records and reports going back to 1966 for information in the field of education.
 
-
Databases that begin with F
-
Financial Times of London: Financial Times of London full-text articles (2001-present).
FirstSearch: Provides access to 14 databases containing over 50 billion library records, magazine articles, proceedings, and more.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
 
-
Databases that begin with G
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library: eBook collection with topics including business, health, history, literature, science, and more.
GPO Monthly Catalog: Provides access to U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record, and direct full-text online access for most documents.
Grolier Encyclopedia Search: Search all of our Grolier encyclopedias at the same time: America the Beautiful, Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Lands and Peoples, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, New Book of Knowledge, and New Book of Popular Science.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia: Quick reference tool, rich with visuals and media, and suitable for students in Middle School and High School. It features over 40,000 quick-reference articles, over 7,500 photographs and illustrations, videos, animations, dynamic maps and sound.
 
-
Databases that begin with H
-
Heritage Quest Online: ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Collection of 25,000+ family and local history books, and the complete US Census from 1790-1930.
Historical Chicago Tribune: Content includes articles between 1849-1987. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
 
-
Databases that begin with I
-
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society: Provides in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on the most enduring and timely issues of the day.
 
-
Databases that begin with K
-
Kids Search - Middle & Elementary School: The Kids Search interface combines a state-of-the-art search engine with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design that is both powerful and fun to use.
 
-
Databases that Begin with L
-
Lands and Peoples: Online encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events for students and others. Special features include: statistics, maps, almanacs and a global news desk.
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre: Esta base de datos incluye 18,000 artículos, 7,500 ilustraciones, y cronologías que cubren la historia del mundo, entre mucha más información. También contiene componentes educativos totalmente en español como: un atlas dinámico, recursos para profesores, y un Aula de Español para los que están aprendiendo el idioma, desde el nivel principiante al intermedio.
Learning Express Library: Provides unlimited access to interactive skill-building courses in math, reading and writing as well as a broad range of practice tests based on official exams such as the ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, Firefighter, Police Officer, Paramedic, EMT Basic, U.S. Citizenship, Postal Worker, Cosmetology, Real Estate Agent & Broker Exams.
Literary Reference Center: Includes critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline, reviews, plot summaries, biographies, interviews, and thousands of full-text poems and short stories.
 
-
Databases that begin with M
-
Mango Languages: Mango is free of charge to APL patrons, and offers a fun, fast and convenient solution to our community’s growing language learning needs. It’s the easiest way to learn to speak a foreign language!
MAS Ultra: Provides a full-text for nearly 350 periodicals covering general reference topics, including health, science, and other areas. In addition, to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 500 periodicals. Full text backfiles go back as far as January of 1985, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
MasterFile Premier: Searches thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Medicina y Salud: Está dirigida a estudiantes de medicina, enfermería y carreras paramédicas, médicos y enfermeras, aunque por la amplitud de su contenido podría ser útil para cualquier persona interesada en temas de salud. Contiene más de 25,000 artículos y 53,000 gráficos e ilustraciones de medicina, enfermería y salud en español.
MEDLINEPLUS: Produced by the National Library of Medicine and corresponds to the following print resources: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
MEDLINE: Produced by the National Library of Medicine and corresponds to the following print resources: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Use it to find studies and articles on all areas of medicine.
Middle Search Plus: Contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines.
Morningstar Investment Research Center: Find a stock or mutual fund, research current or prospective holdings, read analysts' reports, and see ratings, financial reports, valuation ratios, and key ratios.
 
-
Databases that begin with N
-
Proquest Newsstand: Covers nearly 500 U.S. and international newspapers and business journals, with most articles available in full-text.
New York Post: New York Post full-text articles (1986-present).
New York Times; Late Edition: New York Times, Late Edition full-text articles (1980-present).
News of the World (London): News of the World full-text articles (1996-present).
NoveList: Search categories listing Best Sellers, Awards, Mysteries, Inspirational, Younger Readers, Article Archive, NoveList Letters.
NoveList K-8 Plus: Contains information on fiction books for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles.
New Book of Knowledge: Encyclopedia for elementary school students that features articles and carefully screened web links for kids.
New Book of Popular Science: Resource for in-depth science information, biographies and science news for Middle and High School students. It features 400 encyclopedia articles on science, technology, and medical topics, plus over 60 hands-on science experiments.
 
-
Databases that begin with P
-
PapersFirst: Includes every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Center. Contains almost 5 million records for materials presented at conferences world-wide.
Pop Culture Universe: An authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Primary Search: Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
ProceedingsFirst: This index of worldwide conference proceedings complements the PapersFirst database. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: This index of worldwide conference proceedings complements the PapersFirst database. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference.
Public Records: provided by Record Information Services (Illinois): Scroll through Chicagoland’s public records. Real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community and help safeguard your biggest investment - your home. Sort by name, city, zip code, and more. Record Information Services is a 17 year old data compiler of public records serving the Chicagoland area.
 
-
Databases that begin with R
-
Reference USA: Provides business directory listings for over 14 million U.S. Businesses and 100 millions Residential.
Regional Business News: Supplies full text articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.
 
-
Databases that begin with S
-
Searchasaurus:exciting and easy way for young researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies.
SIRS Discoverer: Award-winning, general reference resource for younger students that makes learning fun and intuitive. The database includes carefully selected full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines and government documents.
SIRS Researcher: The perfect place to start for research on position papers or to investigate hot topics and current events. This database contains thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are carefully selected from 1,500 domestic and international publications according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.
Social Studies: Provides authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on the most enduring and timely issues of the day.
Something About the Author: eBook collection of author biographies and their works.
 
-
Databases that begin with U
-
Universitas: Estudiantes y el público en general encontrarán información de referencia, artículos de publicaciones especializadas, documentos históricos, clásicos literarios de los autores más importantes el mundo, más de 10,000 imágenes, 600 mapas, y más.
Universal Class: Over 500 Continuing Education classes covering a huge variety of subjects, including computer training, health sciences, business, and writing. Connect to real instructors and other students. Learn at your own pace 24/7 from any Internet connection, all for free
 
-
Databases that begin with V
-
The Valley Times: The Valley Times full-text articles (2010-present).
 
-
Databases that begin with W
-
Wall Street Journal: Financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance (1987-Current).
Washington Post: The Washington Post full-text articles (1996-present).
WilsonSelectPlus Provides full-text articles in science, humanities, education and business from around the world.
World Almanacs: Online version of Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, plus four almanacs. It is a basic reference source for students and general users. It includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.
WorldCat: Online catalog containing over 50 million records for materials in over 400 languages held in libraries across North America, Europe, Asia and much of the rest of the world. You can place you InterLibrary Loan requests directly through this catalog. Please see our InterLibrary Loan Instructions for more information.
World Geography: Provides valuable information on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that influence our world.